MXGP Lombok: Jeffrey Herlings takes the first series

MXGP Lombok: Jeffrey Herlings takes the first series
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text size Print

Sweltering heat is also the correct description for the weather in Lombok this week, where the driving is the other way around this week. Jeffrey Herlings apparently handled it well and won the first series in the MXGP class.

This time the holeshot was reserved for Tim Gajser. But Jeffrey Herlings and Jorge Prado also started well. We were looking forward to the three tenors who led the World Cup standings and would now compete directly with each other.

After the three leaders, it was Flanders, Seewer and Guadagnini at fourth, five and six. There was no sign of a duel between Gajser, Herlings and Prado after six laps because Gajser kept a tight pace, which prevented Herlings from getting into the wheel. Prado also had to leave a gap on the second man.

With ten minutes of racing left, Glenn Coldenhoff (Fantic) passed Guadagnini and was now in P6. Ultimately there would still be a battle at the front because Herlings had closed his gap on Gajser and was now secretly thinking about a new series victory. In his rush on Gajser, The Bullet went off the track for a moment but lost few meters.

Then he launched an attack on the Slovenian and took over the lead while Gajser lay down in sheer consternation. He was able to maintain second place on third man Jorge Prado who did not seem to find the right feeling on this circuit. He was visited by Calvin Vlaanderen who was aiming for the place of the Spanish world champion.

READ MORE  Romain Febvre is back in the Czech Republic

Two more rounds. Flanders passed Prado and finished third. Jeffrey Herlings didn't look back and won this first series ahead of Tim Gajser. A colorless Prado still comes fourth.

MXGP Race 1

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:21.365; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:07.436; 3. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:14.873; 4. Jorge Prado (ESP, GASGAS), +0:28.814; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:39.037; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Fantic), +0:48.801; 7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +0:52.802; 8. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, Husqvarna), +0:56.184; 9. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, Honda), +0:57.985; 10. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, Yamaha), +1:09.584; 11. Isak Gifting (SWE, Yamaha), +1:15.516; 12. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:20.777; 13. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), +1:40.714; 14. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), +1:57.732; 15. Yuki Okura (JPN, Honda), +2:04.589; 16. Lionel Kerhoas (FRA, KTM), -3 lap(s);

Your reactions

Also to read