Jeffrey Herlings takes the full loot in Indonesia

Jeffrey Herlings takes the full loot in Indonesia
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text size Print

Jeffrey Herlings is back in the running for the world title with a new victory. Although he still has to close a significant gap on World Cup leader Tim Gajser, he promptly won all series in Lombok. Once again it was the leaden and humid heat that made this GP a survival of the fittest. Tim Gajser and Calvin Vlaanderen were allowed on stage.

First series

This time the holeshot was reserved for Tim Gajser. But Jeffrey Herlings and Jorge Prado also started well. We were looking forward to the three tenors who led the World Cup standings and would now compete directly with each other.

After the three leaders, it was Flanders, Seewer and Guadagnini at fourth, five and six. There was no sign of a duel between Gajser, Herlings and Prado after six laps because Gajser kept a tight pace, which prevented Herlings from getting into the wheel. Prado also had to leave a gap on the second man.

With ten minutes of racing left, Glenn Coldenhoff (Fantic) passed Guadagnini and was now in P6. Ultimately there would still be a battle at the front because Herlings had closed his gap on Gajser and was now secretly thinking about a new series victory. In his rush on Gajser, The Bullet went off the track for a moment but lost few meters.

Then he launched an attack on the Slovenian and took over the lead while Gajser lay down in sheer consternation. He was able to maintain second place on third man Jorge Prado who did not seem to find the right feeling on this circuit. He was visited by Calvin Vlaanderen who was aiming for the place of the Spanish world champion.

Two more rounds. Flanders passed Prado and finished third. Jeffrey Herlings didn't look back and won this first series ahead of Tim Gajser. A colorless Prado still comes fourth.

Second series

The holeshot was again for Tim Gajser. Herlings and Guadagnini were second and third. Herlings immediately overtook Gajser and was the new leader after just a few turns. Jorge Prado messed up his start and was only recorded ninth. Calvin Vlaanderen was again well on his way and was soon in third place. Jeremy Seewer was in P4 but then crashed into an advertising arch and lost some positions.

Jorge Prado knew he shouldn't delay and put on his seven-league boots. The Spanish world champion finished half the race in fifth place. Jeffrey Herlings now had to keep his pace high because Tim Gajser continued to follow close behind. Gajser showed his front wheel a few times, but then Herlings stepped up his game.

READ MORE  Herlings will not start in England but Germany!

Tim Gajser continued to put pressure on the fast Dutchman. With a few minutes left on the clock, the Slovenian had to let go, giving Herlings some breathing space. Jeffrey Herlings also wins this series and of course also takes the overall victory in Lombok. After the race it turned out that Herlings was on the road with a defective clutch, which made this victory even more difficult. It's already 200th series victory for the five-time world champion. Tim Gajser comes second in the series and also in the final standings. The third step of the podium is again occupied by a strong Calvin Vlaanderen.

In two weeks the battle in this World Cup will continue in Loket, Czech Republic.

MXGP Race 1

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:21.365; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:07.436; 3. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:14.873; 4. Jorge Prado (ESP, GASGAS), +0:28.814; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:39.037; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Fantic), +0:48.801; 7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +0:52.802; 8. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, Husqvarna), +0:56.184; 9. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, Honda), +0:57.985; 10. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, Yamaha), +1:09.584; 11. Isak Gifting (SWE, Yamaha), +1:15.516; 12. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:20.777; 13. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), +1:40.714; 14. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), +1:57.732; 15. Yuki Okura (JPN, Honda), +2:04.589; 16. Lionel Kerhoas (FRA, KTM), -3 lap(s);

MXGP Race 2

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:56.731; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:06.087; 3. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:11.716; 4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +0:13.768; 5. Jorge Prado (ESP, GASGAS), +0:16.160; 6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:17.898; 7. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, Honda), +0:36.780; 8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Fantic), +0:52.587; 9. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), +1:00.313; 10. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, Yamaha), +1:07.632; 11. Isak Gifting (SWE, Yamaha), +1:16.644; 12. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, Husqvarna), +1:39.054; 13. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:47.875; 14. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), +2:09.852; 15. Yuki Okura (JPN, Honda), -1 lap(s); 16. Lionel Kerhoas (FRA, KTM), -3 lap(s);

MXGP Overalls

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 44 p.; 3. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 40 p.; 4. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 34 p.; 5. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 32 p.; 6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, KAW), 31 p.; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, FAN), 28 p.; 8. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, HON), 26 p.; 9. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 22 p.; 10. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, HUS), 22 p.; 11. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 20 p.; 12. Isak Gifting (SWE, YAM), 20 p.; 13. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 17 p.; 14. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), 14 p.; 15. Yuki Okura (JPN, HON), 12 p.; 16. Lionel Kerhoas (FRA, KTM), 10 p.;

READ MORE  Van den Hoek lets slip away and Cuppen benefits

MXGP Standings

1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 608 points; 2. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 574 p.; 3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 557 p.; 4. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 429 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, KAW), 411 p.; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, FAN), 360 p.; 7. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 327 p.; 8. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HON), 274 p.; 9. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, HON), 264 p.; 10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 259 p.; 11. Brian Bogers (NED, FAN), 213 p.; 12. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, HUS), 172 p.; 13. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), 171 p.; 14. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 167 p.; 15. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 160 p.; 16. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 146 p.; 17. Isak Gifting (SWE, YAM), 130 p.; 18. Ben Watson (GBR, BET), 110 p.; 19. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 95 p.; 20. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, BET), 71 p.; 21. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 63 p.; 22. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), 54 p.; 23. Maximilian Spies (GER, KTM), 39 p.; 24. Josh Gilbert (GBR, KTM), 29 p.; 25. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), 25 p.; 26. Yuki Okura (JPN, HON), 25 p.; 27. Kevin Brumann (SUI, HUS), 24 p.; 28. Lionel Kerhoas (FRA, KTM), 20 p.; 29. Jere Haavisto (FIN, KTM), 18 p.; 30. Giuseppe Tropepe (ITA, HON), 14 p.; 31. Henry Jacobi (GER, KTM), 13 p.; 32. Tim Edberg (SWE, HON), 13 p.; 33. Ander Valentin (ESP, YAM), 7 p.; 34. Emilio Scuteri (ITA, HON), 6 p.; 35. Tomas Kohut (SVK, KTM), 6 p.; 36. Yuri Quarti (ITA, HON), 6 p.; 37. Albin Gerhardsson (SWE, HUS), 6 p.; 38. Uldis Freibergs (LAT, GAS), 6 p.; 39. Todd Kellett (GBR, YAM), 5 p.; 40. Lars van Berkel (NED, HON), 5 p.; 41. Mark Scheu (GER, HUS), 5 p.; 42. Filippo Zonta (ITA, KTM), 4 p.; 43. Miguel Cordovez (ECU, YAM), 4 p.; 44. Noah Ludwig (GER, KTM), 4 p.; 45. Cato Nickel (GER, HUS), 3 p.; 46. ​​Tomass Sileika (LAT, GAS), 3 p.; 47. Simone Croci (ITA, HON), 3 p.; 48. Fabio Aparecido dos Santos (BRA, YAM), 3 p.; 49. Stefano Pezzuto (ITA, HON), 3 p.; 50. Jakub Teresak (CZE, HUS), 3 p.; 51. Anton Nagy (SWE, YAM), 3 p.; 52. Nicolas Rolando (URU, HUS), 2 p.; 53. Andres Benenaula (ECU, KAW), 1 p.; 54. Sergio Ignacio Villaronga Muga (CHI, HON), 1 p.;

Tekst: Danny Hermans

Your reactions

Also to read