MXGP: Gajser connects the dots!

MXGP: Gajser connects the dots!
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text size Print

In the first round of the French GP, HRC superstar Tim Gajser was no match.  The Slovenian dominated for Prado and Febvre. Jeffrey Herlings was the best Dutchman in 6th place.

The holeshot was a perfect match for home driver Febvre. He got Gajser, Prado and Seewer behind him.
With the threat of rain, Gajser pushed on to get into the lead as quickly as possible. However, the most enthusiasm was felt in the sub-top where Jeffrey Herlings and Pauls Jonass fought for 7th place.

At the front, Febvre kept in touch with Gajser while man in form Jonass dealt with Herlings, Coldenhoff and Bogers in succession! With 10 minutes to go, the gap to Seewer in P4 was more than 10 seconds. Although the Standing Construct Honda rider was clearly closing in on the Swiss, Herlings also fought back. Ultimately, “the Bullet” stranded a few tenths of a second behind the ex MX2 world champion.

After a relatively uneventful race, world champion Prado made a stand and sent Febvre back to P3 in the final phase. Flanders finished its catch-up race with a start outside the top 10 in 7th. Coldenhoff, who had a serious crash yesterday, limited the damage with an 8th place ahead of Fantic Factory Racing teammate Brian Bogers.

The decisive second MXGP round starts at 17:10 PM.

MXGP Race 1

1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 35:12.805; 2. Jorge Prado (ESP, GASGAS), +0:06.468; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:19.064; 4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:22.952; 5. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Honda), +0:24.196; 6. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:24.659; 7. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:36.055; 8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Fantic), +0:53.738; 9. Brian Bogers (NED, Fantic), +0:54.945; 10. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, Yamaha), +0:55.416; 11. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, Honda), +0:58.639; 12. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:17.397; 13. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, Husqvarna), +1:19.301; 14. No Banner (SLO, KTM), +1:19.842; 15. Giuseppe Tropepe (ITA, Honda), +1:30.216; 16. Ben Watson (GBR, Beta), +1:35.391; 17. Josh Gilbert (GBR, KTM), +1:52.205; 18. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, Beta), +1:57.611; 19. Kevin Brumann (SUI, Husqvarna), +2:02.709; 20. Mark Scheu (GER, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 21. Cato Nickel (GER, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 22. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), -1 lap(s); 23. Anton Nagy (SWE, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 24. Tom Grimshaw (GBR, Honda), -1 lap(s); 25. Nikolaj Skovgaard (DEN, KTM), -2 lap(s); 26. Emilio Scuteri (ITA, Honda), -8 lap(s); 27. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), -10 lap(s);

Fullspectrum Media, JP Acevedo, Ray Archer

READ MORE  PHOTO: The MXGP of Maggiora in 53 images

Your reactions

Also to read